misscongreeniality

Watch with glittering eyes around you, because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don't believe in the magic will never find it! – Roald Dahl

watch our love grow…

on 08/15/2012

From the very moment life begins, there is growth. And we grow & we grow & we grow. We grow physically, we grow emotionally, we grow mentally. We grow in just about every aspect of the tangible & intangible every instant of our lives. We grow our relationships; friendships, families, love of every kind.

I sent my son off to his first day of second grade today. I’m marrying the man of my dreams in 52 days. I’m more than half way through grad school. Growth is kinda on my mind a lot lately. “Kinda” being comparable to saying the Grand Canyon is “big.” Kinda.

I’ve been to a lot of weddings in my life. Or at least, like, 10+ so it seems like a lot when you consider the number of holes I’ve poked in pantyhose the last second before I had to schlep out the door before I was late to the ceremony…which is also a lot. (Side note: thank GOD pantyhose are not always a fashion requirement when wearing dresses anymore. Seriously. I’m pantyho remedial. Yeah, I said it.)

Of course, we take our cues from nature, right? I mean, truthfully, every organic thing on this planet is constantly growing & changing. Including people. Thankfully. Cro magnon man wasn’t a good look. Progressive is better. Much.

When I think about myself in this particular relationship, as compared to the slew of crappy ones I leave in my wake, and when I think about myself in this space in my life, growth is definitely a recurring theme.  When I think about my sweet, sweet fiance and how much he’s grown over the time we’ve been together, it’s astonishing. Leaps & bounds, I tell you! And OH the growth we’ve done together. But how do you show that? How do you weave that into your lives & into your wedding?

When I saw the invitations from Cast Paper Art (http://www.castpaperart.com/) at a Bridal Show (aka estrogen fest to the infinity power), I did what any mature environmental-minded career woman in her 30’s woman would do…I gasped, hopped up & down on my tip-toes & clapped my hands together like a cross between Corky from “Life Goes On” and Paula Abdul on American Idol. It was something to make my mother proud. Heh.

So, of course, that’s the one thing I’ve splurged on in our pay-for-our-own wedding. And of course they are the one thing people are commenting on relentlessly. Well, that & the fact that I saved all the tissue paper from both of my showers. Talk about your re-gift. Elaine would be proud.

Anyway, the paper is custom made from recycled fibers/post consumer waste with seeds embedded. After the wedding you plant them and wildflowers will grow back every year. No, you don’t have to re-read that, you plant them. The invitation. Seriously. They even come with little instruction cards. So cool, right?

So every year all of our loved ones, near & far, will have a beautiful reminder of our relationship & how it’s grown, how our family has grown, and maybe even how they have grown in their life & relationships…

See…….

Life is the flower for which love is the honey ~Victor Hugo

Leave a Reply

